Canada’s Christina Martin has announced she’ll be returning to the UK for 5 UK shows this Spring, to support the release of her fifth studio album, ‘It’ll Be Alright’ out April 20 on her own Come Undone Records

Experimentation is the lifeblood of any artist. But occasionally they experience moments when everything comes into focus, and suddenly they have opened a door to a limitless creative future. Christina Martin has reached that point on ‘It’ll Be Alright.’ The 10-song collection finds the Halifax-based singer-songwriter attaining what her music has always suggested, a place where the ghosts of her musical heroes freely mingle with pop-rock’s modern architects.

Born in Florida and raised in Canada’s Maritimes, Martin’s musical journey since her first release in 2002 has led to extended stays in Austin, Texas, as well as Germany, from where she has cultivated a substantial following across mainland Europe. Along the way, she has earned numerous East Coast and Music Nova Scotia Awards, and had songs placed in multiple television programs.

“With this album, I am able to say a lot more with my music than I ever have before,” Martin says. “There is growth because we are all reaching for something bigger for ourselves and the audience.” Working closely with her husband Dale Murray (Cuff The Duke, The Guthries), Martin made a conscious effort not to be bound by the expectations of those who have categorized her in the past as an alt-country artist. Although she will never shed those influences, ‘It’ll Be Alright’ utilizes far more sonic textures, allowing Martin to explore the many sides of her musical personality.

The album’s brilliance is its seamless blend of the past and present. The bridge between them is Martin’s voice, an instrument both haunting and immediate, traits that could also best describe ‘It’ll Be Alrights’ lyrical content. To say the album is Martin’s most accomplished effort to date is stating the obvious; what is remarkable is how her maturity has translated into her most accessible album to date as well.

‘It’ll Be Alright’ the single is out March 30
The album of the same name follows on April 20

1. It’ll Be Alright
2. Reaching Out
3. I’ve Got A Gun
4. Lines
5. Puppet Museum
6. You Ran From Me
7. Take Me Back In A Dream
8. You Don’t Have To Leave Tonight
9. Things You Can’t Tell By Looking Her Way
10. Somewhere With You

“Martin mixes her intense and intimate character writing with her toughest and strongest music to date. Always handy with pop melodies and arrangements, now she has more edge, and lots of blistering guitar moments to go with it.” – Bob Mersereau, CBC/Author The Top 100 Canadian Albums

Watch fabulous Christina singing her new single:

Listen to her new album HERE

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)